Cellphone Games are Cool Again

June 4, 2009 at 2:16 pm 1 comment

Do you remember back when pretty much everyone had one of these, and spent way too much time playing with snakes? I’m not gonna lie: that was pretty much my childhood. I actually bought my first cellphone for the games (I didn’t exactly have much to talk about with my friends, unless it was videogame related). No wonder I was a fat kid… But I did have a sweet high score.

More importantly, I remember what happened when someone decided to try and “improve” a good thing: mistake, after mistake, after mistake. Obviously many people would’ve disagreed with me, but I figured that if something was fun because it was simple, then it should stay simple. If I wanted to play a complicated game, I could’ve played my gameboy.

That being said, I realize now that there has always been a gap between the kinds of games I played in cellphones and the kinds I played in actual videogame consoles. The thing was that back then, the technology used for mobile phone games was just too far behind. Today’s cellphones are really different: developers can actually make games that totally immerse players. In fact with the rise of 3G technology, the mobile phone gaming industry is bigger than ever – and it’s growing quickly. There’s now a trend towards more complicated games, and I have to admit – simplicity isn’t as great as it used to be. And with so many great game developers around the world, I wouldn’t be surprised to see kids buy phones just for the games again. And it melts my heart…

By the way, if you want, you can check some of these sweet games out for yourself.

-RySy @ MyMojo

Entry filed under: Digital Content, Mobile, mobile web applications.

Music… Business Piracy vs. Privacy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. seb  |  September 16, 2009 at 1:28 am

    you are so cool

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

